Siblings
By Juan Grillo

I, too sing America.

Langston, you are sibling number two.
By law, us and whites are equal now,
but I've felt your pain too.

As the youngest of the the three,
you can tell we are all adopted,
but everyday, I pray to God for change and equality.

People think we've won ours,
so gays fight for their rights,
yet they're wrong,
why do you people are afraid to go into the streets at night?

We've grown strong together,
all because of you.
You started it,
now I'm going to finish it for you.

I, too am America.


LK
9/22/2013 11:59:11 pm

I thought this poem was short, but I liked it. It was talking about the idea of race, and I think it took a unique take on it.

Reply
Baylee
9/23/2013 12:01:40 am

I like the shortness of your poem because its clear to see the meaning. I love the last stanza of your response! It was really uplifting.

Reply
Ariana
9/23/2013 12:04:45 am

I really like how short your poem is because its easier to read. I also like the message that the poem is getting to.

Reply
Regan
9/23/2013 12:05:22 am

I liked this poem because you know what's going on, and what's being said, but he says it in such a way that you don't feel bad for the poet, you feel his determination. I liked this one a lot. Short and sweet.(:

Reply
Lacey
9/23/2013 12:05:31 am

I really love how this poem fights back against segregation. It shows that not just white men in America represent America, and that no matter what, no one will tell this man to back down.

Reply
Noah
9/23/2013 12:06:29 am

It explains the idea of race. What we are, what we will be for generations to come. What makes us separate but what makes us united.

Reply
Michaela
9/23/2013 12:11:22 am

I like how this poem is focused on the authors race. I like how he says tomorrow he will be eating at the table. I feel like he is referencing to the future of segregation, and how he will no longer be judged. I also enjoyed the way you responded to the poem.

Reply



Leave a Reply.